This New Year’s Eve, my Sweetie and I are going to The Grape.  Which is a Dallas institution.  And the Institution-within-an-Institution for The Grape is their mushroom soup.  It’s really famous.  I mean, really, REALLY famous.

I have the recipe for their soup, but I have tweaked it, and I daresay that mine is even BETTER.  For reals.  (Be sure and eat the soup with a sourdough baguette!  The bread really makes this dish pop!)

So, here is my redone recipe for The Grape’s Mushroom Soup.

Don’t say I never gave you anything.

Ingredients:

  • 6 tbs butter
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • 3,  8-oz packages of various mushrooms, chopped.  I like to use button, shiitake, and crimini.  (And throw in some oyster mushrooms if I can find them!)
  • 3 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups of beef stock
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • pinch of white pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1.5 cups heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Melt butter in large saucepan.
  2. Add shallots and cook over moderate heat until they become translucent.
  3. Add mushrooms and cook 5 minutes more, stirring occasionally.
  4. Stir in flour and coat vegetables well.
  5. Add white wine and cook for a minute or so, scraping the bottom of the pot.
  6. Add stock slowly, stirring constantly.
  7. Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes.
  8. Add white pepper & nutmeg.
  9. Remove from heat, stir in cream, and serve.

Serves 6.

If you serve this with a baguette of sourdough bread and a glass of red wine, you will be adored forever.  Ladies, this soup is a MAN TRAP.  I kid you not.  How else do you think I snagged my husband???  It’s THAT good!

Enjoy!

