When I was much younger, and I used to visit my grandpa every Sunday for dinner, he used to sometimes make cornflake chicken.  This week I was feeling nostalgic, and I decided to try making it for myself.  So I consulted my good friend Mr. Google, and I got the closest recipe I could find for his recipe…

So without further ado, here it is….

Cornflake chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. cornflake crumbs
  • 2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper
  • 4-6 chicken breast halves, skinned
  • 1/4 c. buttermilk, or 2 beaten eggs
  • butter

Directions:

  1. Rinse and dry chicken pieces.
  2. Put chicken into a zip-top bag, and pour buttermilk into bag.  Swirl it around to coat chicken.
  3. Let chicken sit for a while to brine in the buttermilk.  (At least an hour.)
  4. (Skip those last two steps if you are using eggs instead of buttermilk.)
  5. Combine first 5 ingredients in another plastic bag. Shake to mix well.
  6. Place chicken in bag of crumbs and shake to coat.
  7. Place chicken on broiler pan which has been sprayed with vegetable spray.
  8. Dot chicken with butter.  Or melt butter in microwave and drizzle over chicken.
  9. Bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes or until done.
  10. Bask in the glorious glow of being worshiped by anyone who eats this.

